Cue deep, inspirational tagline…like “Impossible Is Nothing”

Day 12 – January 14, 2013

So, we’re back on campus. Elon is absolutely gorgeous, don’t get me wrong…it’s literally a botanical garden and has topped many “Most Beautiful Colleges” lists which you could easily understand as soon as you step foot on one of our wobbly bricks, but there’s just something not quite so magical about being back on campus when it means slaving away in a computer lab and therefore not “slaving away” in Costa Rica. This is where we have to get down and dirty and I don’t know if I’m ready for the whirlwind that’s about to take place. We met at 9:00am (now yesterday) morning (because I CANNOT stay on top of these reflections) and sat down to hash out everything that needs to happen in the blink of an eye, also known as 9 days. Nine days to build a website? Complete with videos, photos, compelling written content, interactive features, donation buttons, the moon? It’s freaking me out a little bit. I know it has been done in the past…every other iMedia class has done it, so I know it’s possible, but I think we’re all a little leery to believe it. After our meeting, I browsed through past iMedia fly-in projects for some guidance and inspiration and then set to work on sorting through all of my notes to pull out the best content that could be used for the website and continued to rewatch the hours of interviews we shot while in Costa Rica in order to find the quotes with the most passion and the most interesting information. I also began writing blurbs, captions, intro paragraphs, etc. for each of the five sections of our website and tried catching up on more of these reflections before passing out in my cloud (a.k.a. bed, which I don’t see nearly enough of).

This is how I feel:

Photo on 1-14-13 at 7.51 PM #3

What are your concerns with the project at this point?

As I just mentioned, I think I’m just a little overwhelmed by the amount of work that needs to get done in such a short amount of time. We have run into this several times before in this program and things miraculously get done one way or another, but I just don’t know how we’re going to do everything we want to in such a short time frame (even shorter because we lost a whole day to travel, essentially). There is just an extremely large amount of content to go through and sort out in an organized, intriguing way. And not only does it have to be in Spanish, but it must be translated back into English. Ay yay yay.

I’m also a little concerned that we didn’t get enough content. I know…complete opposite side of the coin, but I’m really worried that we’ll come up with some really interesting idea for an interactive component or a piece of media and we’ll realize we never got that shot or that footage or that information or that soundbyte….the list goes on. Obviously we can’t easily fly back to Costa Rica to get it (especially if we’re booked through American Airlines), so if we don’t have it…we don’t have it.

What can you do to address these concerns?

To avoid getting too overwhelmed and stressed out, I just need to take things one thing at a time. By breaking the workload into small chunks (and celebrating the minor successes as I cross things off the Basecamp To-Do List), bit by bit…the project will come together. And although there are so many hours in a day and the majority of those hours should be spent working so we’re not ripping our hair out and swimming in our own tears by the end of next week, I know I will have to take some sort of break every now and then to avoid literally witnessing my own head exploding. You will probably find me at the gym…pounding out my frustrations on a treadmill to the melodic screeches of dubstep (there’s a time and place for it…the next 9 days are definitely one of them).

What does your team need to do to address these concerns?

We will only be able to succeed and create our absolute best project by communicating. Tensions will probably run high at some point because of the short time frame, and even a laidback group like mine with members who get along well with each other will more than likely be subject to some frustrations towards each other. So if/when this happens, we just need to communicate. We need to be open with each other and talk about anything that’s bothering us. We also need to talk about what we need from others in terms of content or help, talk about ideas and develop them together, talk about what we like and don’t like, talk about the weather or pizza, because at some point, we’re going to get sick of talking about the project, etc. We also need to be creative. Easier said than done. But this is important. We need to think outside the box. We will probably run into times where we wish we had more to work with, wish we had more photos, more video, more information about a certain topic and we’ll realize we just can’t get what we want…this is when we need to be our most creative in order to come up with another idea that doesn’t require the missing content.

Leave a Reply

