Showtime!

Day 22 – January 24, 2013

I can’t believe we made it to this point! We finished! Just last week, we were debating WordPress themes and now we have a really great-looking, fully-functional website. I’m so impressed with my team and all the other iMedia students…it’s crazy what we can accomplish together in such a short amount of time.

What about this experience differed from your expectations of this project? Give at least 3 specific examples.

  1. I guess when I originally thought about this project it was a little intimidating to be working with a real-world client. It wasn’t just another class assignment; we were actually working on something for a real non-profit organization that could make a difference for them. While I understood there were stakes, I didn’t feel as much pressure as I thought I might. Of course I wanted to develop a good product for the client, but I didn’t feel as much anxiety about it during the process as I thought I might, which was a pleasant surprise. I felt confident that my team would be able to come up with something that would be high quality and serve our client well.
  2. I knew it would be a challenge to gather good footage while on-site, but maybe I didn’t expect it to be quite so difficult. It was a little disappointing to come back home and realize that many of our interviews weren’t the best (whether from noise disturbance or just not the most attractive visual background, etc.)
  3. I wasn’t sure what it was going to be like actually going down to Costa Rica – I had no clue what we were going to do, but I really enjoyed all of the activities and thought it gave us a good taste of their culture and helped us to appreciate the work that CODECE does and why they’re fighting to save the mountains.

What about this experience matched your expectations of this project? Give at least 3 specific examples.

  1. I knew it was going to be a lot of working going in to the project, and of course that’s what it ended up being. Many late nights were pulled, whether in Powell or at home, but I think it really paid off because we ended up with a really nice-looking website that should hopefully help CODECE accomplish its goals.
  2. I was hoping that this project would give me a great addition to my portfolio and I believe it really did. I will be proud to tell potential employers about this project and show off what my teammates and I accomplished.
  3. I expected to learn from this project and I did. I started to learn what it’s like to work with a client (admittedly, we had a pretty easy one), I learned some new Premiere skills, I learned that you should gather more content than you ever think you’ll need, I learned that ripping apart the code of a WordPress template is hard work but it can be done, I learned that people can have creative differences but it can all come together in harmony…the list goes on…

How well do you think this project has met the needs of your client? Why? What would you change if you had more time?

CODECE wanted a site that educated the community (from the Escazú community to the global community) about the need for conservation and sustainable development, that shared their mission, and that allowed others to get involved or donate their money to help their cause. I think our website achieved that. We gave them a website that allowed anybody visiting the site to get in touch with them (through a contact form) and we linked their site to Pay-Pal so if anybody was inspired to donate any amount of money to them, they could. I think we were also able to tell their story in an interesting, succinct way that will hopefully educate the public and convince them to help. If we had more time, I would have liked to put some more media on the site – like interviews of CODECE members that tells their story in a more personal way (not just text on a page). I would also add more to explain their culture/traditions, maybe through some animation of one of their legends as told by Estéfana. It also would have been cool to develop a first newsletter for them because I don’t think they have one as it stands, but it’s something they seem interested in (which is why we gave them a contact form in order to keep people updated on their recent efforts). I would also add some more interactive elements to their education section that would be directed towards kids because that is a large part of what they do (educating kids in schools about the need to preserve the natural environment). Obviously there were many other additional things that could have been done, but I really like what we came up with and I think it will be a great asset to CODECE in the future.

zucru

Leave a Reply

