Because you need other hobbies besides drinking alone on a couch sans pants…

That’s the short answer as to why I’m starting to blog and run my website, Simply Vibes, again. Something happens after you graduate college…and then graduate school…and then enter the “real world.” And that something is not having a calendar of AWESOME scheduled for you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. All of a sudden, you don’t have classes to go to to heatedly debate theories that you’ll never use in life; no mixers to walk to and stumble home from with your roommate; no executive councils to run to gain leadership skills that you can only hope will one day impress an employer; no literature reviews to write to prove that you know more than the next person about two random topics no one would ever think to put together; no excuses to drink every day of the week* just because it’s Sunday Funday or Trivia Tuesday and you have whole apartments full of people who will join you….

*If you continue stuff like that last one, it’s apparently considered a problem…so we’re forced to do it alone, behind closed doors, pants-less.

Am I right?

tumblr_m74duvtozG1qap4vs

………

The transition into the working world is a tricky one. I all of a sudden realize how people can go to bed 25 and wake up 50, wondering where the hell the time went and why they have yet to cross anything off of their bucket list. It becomes so ridiculously easy to just fall into a dull rhythm of life: get up, drink a venti, drive to work and have no recollection of how you got there upon arriving, work, coffee, work, lunch, work, work, coffee, drive home, work out, dinner, couch, drink, bed. You do that one day and all of a sudden, you’ve done it for 4 months, and then years, and you forget what’s truly important. Now, I’m not saying this is true of everyone and I’m not saying that I haven’t had some semblance of a life since graduation, but it does take a hell of a lot more effort to defy the dull rhythm that tries to suck you in. And THIS is where my blogging and website come in. At the point where I realize that I need something to dedicate at least part of my free time to…something I’m passionate about…something I can look forward to…something that might inspire me to keep that bucket list alive, active, and constantly evolving as I cross-off and add to.

I love writing…I always have (since I was strong enough to hold a pencil and smart enough to put halfway coherent thoughts together in what could grammatically be considered a sentence, as my bio says). And I also love music. It’s hard to capture in written language what music means to me, but a few months ago, I wrote this:

Music is a passion. It’s an emotion, a religion, an escape, an inspiration, an expression, a universal language capable of bringing thousands together as one community. It’s an experience and a movement. It can become the very best definition we have of ourselves and of each other. It has the power to make a room full of people dance like crazy or it can leave them standing perfectly still while goosebumps race all over their bodies. This is exactly why I love it: it has the power to be all of this at once because to each unique individual, it can mean a hundred different things. But it all comes down to this: simply, vibes. And to me, good beats bring good vibes.

So…DON’T CALL IT A COMEBACK, I’ve been here for years just one year. I feel that getting back in to these two things that mean so much to me will make me feel more productive, will allow me to experiment with things that will not only help me personally but in my career, and will help me to just be happier in general – a bit of a Happiness Project. I hope you’ll join me for the ride. I’ve already started posting to Simply Vibes’ social media accounts again (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram) and this will be my first blog post. I think I’m going to write a series of blogs around the themes of “things I just don’t f*cking understand in this world” and “things I’ve learned” (because, spoiler alert: learning doesn’t stop after formal education ends). I have two “things I’ve learned” posts that I can write this week after attending two conferences last week. Maybe if I promise you guys that I’ll write those…I actually will. Because what does a promise to yourself mean, anyway?

tumblr_lnwltqhA7R1qzj7lm

One response to “Because you need other hobbies besides drinking alone on a couch sans pants…

Leave a Reply

